AIT Logo.jpg

Quick Links


Articles of association - Updated October 2018

  1. The Association shall be known as the “Association of Inhalation Toxicologists”.

  2. The aim of the Association shall be to promote discussion on and provide a clearer understanding of all aspects of inhalation toxicology.

  3. Membership shall be open to anyone with an interest in the subject and in particular those with an active interest in the practical aspects of inhalation toxicology. Membership will remain open based on continued communication with the association (verbal or written). At the end of a three year period without communication with the association, membership will automatically be withdrawn.

  4. There normally shall be one meeting of Members per year, usually in autumn, to include the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Association.

  5. The Committee of the Association shall allocate places should it be necessary to restrict attendance at a meeting.

  6. The Committee of the Association will be made up of elected (in accordance with Article 9.) Officers and Ordinary Committee members as follows:

    • Chairperson

    • Vice-Chairperson

    • Secretary

    • Treasurer

    • Ordinary Committee members

  7. Duties of Officers and Ordinary committee members of the Association

    1. Chairperson: shall normally chair the committee meetings and AGM of the Association.

    2. Vice-Chairperson: shall deputise for the Chairperson.

    3. Secretary: shall assist with the Committee's affairs, including maintaining the minutes of meetings of the Committee. The Secretary shall in turn be assisted by others in organising meetings of the Association.

    4. Treasurer: shall manage the financial affairs of the Association; shall provide annually at the Annual General Meeting of the Association a balance sheet of the Association's financial affairs; shall submit annually the accounts up to 31 March for auditing by 2 members of the association.

    5. Ordinary Committee members: shall together with the Officers of the Committee be responsible for furthering the aims of the association and in particular organising the annual scientific meeting and the AGM. Where circumstances dictate the Committee may when required, co-opt (non-elected) members of the Association to help with defined tasks of the Association.

  8. The Officers and Ordinary committee members of the Association shall approve new members of the Association.In addition, requests to become Ordinary Committee members will be discussed by the Committee of the Association and their recommendations put to the members at the AGM or via email.

  9. Election procedures

    1. Members shall be elected as Ordinary Members of the Committee by delegates to the Annual General Meeting or by email. Nominations for a position on the committee shall be required to be proposed and seconded by delegates attending the Annual General Meeting or by email. Proposals with reasons for the candidate’s suitability for a position on the committee will be sent to the Chairperson (or other Officers) of the Association in advance of the Annual General Meeting. However, the candidate must be present at the Annual General Meeting to be elected, unless exceptional circumstances prevail. Members of the Committee will be elected for 6 years after which they will be up for re-election. Committee members should take an active part in at least two thirds of the Committee meetings each year, unless exceptional circumstances prevail, by either attending in person or by teleconference.  If this commitment (once elected) to be an active part of the committee is not forthcoming the Officers of the committee will have the right to deselect them from that role.

    2. Members of the Committee shall be elected as Officers of the Association for a period of 3 years by delegates to the Annual General Meeting or, in exceptional circumstances (e.g. resignation of an Officer), be temporarily appointed by majority agreement of the existing Members of the Committee until a formal election can take place at the next scheduled AGM. Officers are eligible for re-election, but normally the Chairperson shall stand down after a maximum of two terms. An Ordinary Member of the Committee must serve at least two years before seeking election as an Officer of the Association.The maximum duration that any committee member can remain on the committee without any form of re-election is 6 years.

    3. No organisation (including subsidiaries) shall have more than 3 Members on the Committee to maintain diversity and balance within the committee and to ensure adequate representation across the range of Members of the Association.

    4. Co-opted members onto the Committee will not be elected but invited to perform designated tasks as required by the Committee.Their tenure will be for a maximum of one year.

  10. Changes to the constitution shall be made at an Annual General Meeting or throughout the year via email with an inclusion of a 4-week voting poll to collect responses. If 30% or more of the responders are against the change proposed it will not be ratified. Proposed changes should be provided to the Committee Secretary in good time. Written proxy votes concerning constitutional matters shall be accepted at Annual General Meetings.

  11. The Committee of the Association, by majority agreement of its members or at least 25 ordinary Members shall have the power to call an Extraordinary General Meeting of the Association, at a minimum of 28 day's notice to the Membership.

  12. Registration Fee – A registration fee, to be set by the Committee of the Association, shall be levied on delegates attending each meeting and delegates shall be notified of it in advance; at the discretion of the Committee, the fee shall be waived for invited speakers.

  13. Membership Fee – Membership of the Association is free assuming the person attend an AGM, but this shall be subject to annual review by the Committee. Those requesting to join the Association who do not attend the AGM will be charged £30.An annual Membership fee may be charged at the discretion of the Committee; if an annual fee is required, the level of the fee for the following year shall be ratified at the Annual General Meeting or by email.

  14. Funds – The funds of the Association may be used at the discretion of the Committee:

    1. To cover all administrative costs of the Association.

    2. To further the aims of the Association.

  15. Authorisation of Payments – Payment from the funds shall be authorised by any two of the following signatories:

    • Chairperson

    • Secretary

    • Treasurer

In the event of the Association being terminated, any surplus funds remaining after satisfaction of debts and liabilities shall be donated to a charity to be agreed on by the outgoing Committee of the Association